A New Look

I have wasted five hours attempting to redesign my weblog. I suppose I shouldn’t be too picky about its appearance, but I just can’t help myself (especially because I know a little about digital design). I liked the last theme I was using, but every post required a feature image if I wanted it to look decent, otherwise there was just an empty rectangle.

I’m too cheap at the moment to buy the upgrade customization feature or buy a theme. So, last night I spent several hours scouring through about 40-50 different free themes trying to figure out which one I would like better. I finally have settled on the one I’m currently using (no promises it will stay that way). It’s amazing how time flies when you are trying to solve a problem. Last night I kept myself up far too late trying to figure out how to get the layout just right.  I’ve already been at it for another hour tonight. I’m pretty sure I’ve discovered a glitch with WordPress. Really, I’m just having an issue with the sidebar and widgets. Most of this probably sounds like gibberish, but the point is I’m having trouble with formatting and it’s not my fault! I keep thinking I can fix it though. I have a couple more things to try, and then I’ll probably just give up and leave good enough alone.

Sigh…free themes just aren’t as good as the ones you have to pay for. I guess I’ll make do. I just had to complain a bit because I’ve spent so much time on something that has gotten me nowhere, rather like riding a treadmill. I don’t like treadmills.

 

One thought on “A New Look

  1. I feel your frustration, and know you well enough to know a little of your sense of wanting things right. Anyway – well expressed.

Leave a Reply

