A Teller’s Life

One more week of work and my days as a teller will come to an end. I figure now is a great time to reflect on everything this job has taught me. I don’t think I will ever be a teller again. I can’t seem to stick with a job for more than a few months. I try, but then life happens. I’ve never felt inclined to go back to a job I’ve had before, not because the job was bad, but because I am always seeking something that I think will be better.

In no particular order here is a list of things I have learned as a teller.

1. It’s okay to be off balance. It’s not the end of the world and you probably won’t get fired even you are off balance once, twice, even five times. The less you worry about it, the more likely you’ll balance.

2. When you are scheduled from 9am-6pm you won’t go home by 6. On that note overtime pay is nice. Getting home after 6:30 not so much. After you’ve made dinner and eaten it, there’s hardly time to do much else but get ready for bed.

3. Old people can do more than you think. It amazes me how many 80 to 90 year olds I see come into the credit union. They are still going along just fine. Some are even still driving. It’s quite awesome to see.

4. People are nicer than you think. I remember the people who are nice, who are patient and understanding, who give me compliments, etc. I hardly remember the ones that get angry and storm off. One unhappy person isn’t going to ruin my day. A majority of members are very happy/nice/friendly.

5. Slow days suck and so do busy days. Don’t we always have something to complain about? We’re never satisfied.

6. Slow days are great for thinking. They’re also great for clock watching. It can be nice when it’s slow because I get to talk to the members more leisurely and to the other tellers. I call it bonding time.

7. Busy days are great because I hardly watch the clock. By the end of the day I feel like I’ve run a mile or two.

8. Computers are slow. Servers are slow. There’s always some kind of technological problem. We may say that technology is improving our lives, but when it doesn’t work properly it’s a bit of a hinderance.

9. People have strange names–like Sunshine Mustache.

10. It’s okay that to introduce myself by middle name and that I use it for work circumstances. People will call you whatever you tell them to call you (for the most part). I will soon write a blog post about my name.

11. People work during the summer. Being a student and having a retired school teacher for a parent I almost forgot that people work during the summer (in fact they work all year around).

I could probably extend this list quite a bit, but I think I’ve captured some major points. Being a teller has definitely given me some good experiences and has given me ample time to think about careers and people and myself. I know that I don’t want to be doing this all my life. I don’t even think I could do it for a year. Also, full-time jobs really are time-consuming. This one took far more than the 40 hours a week I was scheduled for, especially when you equate the time it takes to get there and the lunch hour. I think I’m much more suited to a part-time job. That way I would have time to do everything else–like live my life.

3 thoughts on “A Teller’s Life

  1. I was able to save enough to take an eight-week unpaid leave of absence from work this summer, and life moved at a better pace. Perhaps someday I will be able to always live that way, but I may just have to cope with the whole commute/work full-time/commute pattern. I wish you luck in finding a part-time job that satisfies your soul, gives you enough to live on and allows more time for life. Such jobs are very hard to come by, because our culture values what one does for a living (whether or not we ourselves value it) and spending long hours in a workplace. I pray that that will change someday… soon.

    • Thanks for your thoughts. And I think the part-time job will just be until I can find a career. Working full-time just doesn’t allow me to work on other things. I really don’t know right now. I want to eventually find a job that is satisfying. It would be great to live in a society where the job isn’t the most important thing, but sometimes it feels that way. Sometimes it feels that is the only way to survive.

  2. The classic paradigm, now perhaps outdated in 21st century: which seemed to say by way of psychological or gendered view was, Men define themselves by what they do, women by their relationships. Too simple perhaps.

Leave a Reply

