Changing Seasons and Baking Bread

Well the weather certainly has turned here. Last night was the first freeze of the season. I love this time of year, when the leaves change colors and the air is crisp and cold. Fall is nature’s way of being ironic. The sun is shining and the skies are blue, but it certainly isn’t warm. I like the balance of cold mornings and the warm afternoons. It’s also the time for me to wear my hats, jackets, sweaters, sweats and scarves. I finally can bundle up in the comfort of my blankets. Granted, this is both good and bad because I’m reluctant to leave the warmth of my blankets in the morning. I enjoy curling up with a hot drink.

Now fall happens to also be the time I want to eat carbs, which means I tend to want to bake. So, I just wanted to share my baked creations.

Here are some orange muffins made with rice flour, which actually turned out pretty well. Still not as good as all-purpose white flour…But the raisins and toasted pecans made it rather tasty. DSC_0149

Here is a blueberry and peach pie with homemade all butter crust. The blueberries and peaches were seasoned with a bit of ginger and nutmeg. Had I had another peach I would have added that because there was a bit too much crust. Although, everyone knows the crust is the best part. And this one was particularly fantastic, probably the best I’ve ever made. The trick was the grate frozen butter into the crust instead of trying to cut cold butter with a pastry blender. DSC_0183

And I baked some whole wheat bread. There is nothing like the warmth and comfort of freshly made bread. It makes the house smell absolutely wonderful.

DSC_0199DSC_0192

That’s it for now! I’m definitely going to cherish every fall day because soon I will be in experiencing a whole different climate. I’ll be back to shorts and t-shirts very soon.

Leave a Reply

