The Joys of Learning a New Language

It is a strange and wonderful feeling speaking in a new language. There is still so much I can’t say and I certainly can’t say it grammatically correct, but it doesn’t matter. I find myself communicating ideas that I didn’t know I could with my limited vocabulary. It’s like a puzzle. What can I say with the words I know? It’s so much fun talking in Spanish. I’m constantly surprised at how much I don’t have to translate. The words just roll off my tongue.

And then there’s the other side of things, in which I don’t understand anything. Sometimes I can hear Spanish and understand every word. Other times I can’t understand a single word, either because people talk to fast, their accent is slightly different, or I just don’t know. And then there are times when I don’t think I understand any of it and a few seconds later I know exactly was said. I can feel my brain processing. This is both cool and frustrating. I’m thinking yes I know what they said, but by this time I’ve been quiet too long to answer. Plus, answering takes time because I have to think of what I want to answer in English and then say it in Spanish. I know eventually this will become a more automatic thing once I know more of the language.

Everyday I seem to change my opinion about how much I know. Some days I’m amazed at how much I know and other days I feel like I don’t know anything. The more I learn about grammar the less I seem to know. I would love to be fluent in another language, but the process will certainly take more than three months…unfortunately. Wouldn’t we all love to fluent in another language?

Despite the fact I am not fluent in the language, I can still occasionally make jokes and people can still joke with me. It’s worth speaking what I do know. I feel closer to the people here. Language has a way of bonding people and culture. It’s a beautiful thing to be a part of.

 

Leave a Reply

