No pavo, no turkey

Happy Thanksgiving
Well Thanksgiving really doesn’t exist outside of the US. It’s really not possible to celebrate a holiday when it’s only important to you. I have been surrounded by Germans, Costa Ricans, and Spaniards, and them today is just a regular day. I didn’t encounter any people from the US. Today was just Thursday, November 28. I had a cheese sandwich with lettuce at a typical Costa Rican restaurant. Dinner was a cup of noodles. Of course I reminisced a bit and felt longing for the traditional foods of Thanksgiving: turkey, stuffing, gravy, cranberries, green bean casserole…Despite the fact I didn’t get to celebrate Thanksgiving with my family or friends, I am grateful that I am in place that has wi-fi, and was able to talk with my family. Despite the lack of “Thanksgiving,” this is one Thanksgiving I will always remember because it is so different from the other Thanksgivings I have had. And tomorrow, won’t be Black Friday…just Friday. I’m happy about that.

 

2 thoughts on “No pavo, no turkey

  1. Querida FuChai,
    What a joy to hear news directly from you. On this day set aside to count the blessings from our Lord we remember you.
    Bless you, Dear. May the Lord bless you and keep you and make His face to shine upon you and be gracious unto you.
    We send our love,
    Ann & Art

Leave a Reply

