A Year Around the World

In May of 2013 I began my gap-year. I wasn’t really sure what I was going to do. I just knew that I didn’t want to get stuck in school. I knew I wasn’t at the right school. I had little direction about what I wanted to study or do with the rest of my life. I certainly wasn’t going to stay at school and get in to debt. I did know one thing, that what I really wanted to do was travel–to see the world. And that’s exactly what I did.

As I have already blogged extensively about my travels, I think a timeline is appropriate to layout my year off.

  • May 2013-October 2013       worked full-time as a bank teller
  • October 2013-January 2014       Costa Rica adventures
  • January 2014-March 2014    worked as receptionist
  • April 2014   China trip
  • May 2014-August 2014  a mix of work and play

Well put this way it doesn’t look like I did very much in my gap-year. But that’s far from the truth. I experienced more new things in the last year than I have in all of high school. I worked, I saved money, and I traveled. I was a farmer. I walked on The Great Wall. I lived in two completely new cultures. I learned a new language. I turned a year older. I lived. I learned about myself, about what I want and don’t want. I found contentment instead of uneasiness about the future.

It wasn’t just about work. Work was a means to make money so that I could travel and now it has been a means to pay for an education. I have decided to pursue a degree in Digital Media Arts and Design. And if I don’t like it, I won’t continue it. Then I’ll just live in other countries for a while, become fluent in a couple of languages and see where that takes me.

That’s all a bit over my head right now though. I’m actually excited to start school Monday. I have already paid tuition in full and bought my books.

I will be taking:

Intro to Digital Media Arts and Design
Intro to Digital Editing
Art: Two Dimensional Design
Beginning Spanish
Digital Photography

Be prepared to see some art and photography from my classes this fall.

And so my gap-year did end with starting school again, but this time with more purpose, experience, exploration and questioning. And although it was a gap from traditional schooling, it was a gap filled with far more than I could have imagined for myself.It only took me 90 blog posts to get here.

One thought on “A Year Around the World

  1. Thanks, I wondered about the schedule of classes. Looks good. And it has been a fantastically fruitful year for you. As your rather wise godmother said to me once, “Don’t worry Robert. FuChai will find her way.” And indeed you are well started on exactly that.

Leave a Reply

