The End of Summer

I think I must’ve blinked a few too many times. It’s August already. But really that’s just a month of the year. It’s marked how much time has passed since my last big adventure.

So before I start my new one, I thought I’d share a bit of news of what’s happened since I got back from China.

I came back from China at the end of April, looking to settle into a job for a while. Apparently, God had a few other plans for me.

I had a few job interviews with a couple of corporations and didn’t end up getting either job. You can read about that whole fiasco here (it wasn’t really a fiasco, but it certainly hurt my ego).

I already had been turning rooms at Silver River Adobe Inn. The owner was training me to make breakfast and take care of all the Bed and Breakfast tasks for when she and her husband left for trips. I also continued to drive a lady around, who happens to be named Daisy. So jokingly, but mostly seriously I am “Driving Miss Daisy.”

I still needed a job that was a bit more consistent, and I ended up getting a job as a server/busser/cashier at a small Spanish restaurant downtown. Still that totaled only about nine hours a week.

May was light on work, but I still managed to fill everyday with something to do. Then I tapped into the house sitting/pet sitting market. Since June I’ve watched six or seven houses throughout the summer. I also have managed the B&B all on my own.

In July one more job opportunity presented itself. I was asked to start teaching Taekwondo and as I had already been going, it was basically a no-brainer to get paid to go to Taekwondo.

And if you’ve lost count, collectively that’s five jobs. And yes there isn’t much of a consistent schedule, but I made enough for a semester of college as well as other expenses and some fun. Some days four jobs all collided all in one day–like today.

Now that I think about it, all five collided today.

1. I house sat.
2. I turned rooms at the B&B.
3. I worked at the restaurant.
4. I taught Taekwondo.
5. I drove Daisy.

So what’s going to happen now that I start school Monday? I’ll pretty much keep all of those jobs. I just won’t have the same availability I did this summer, which means I won’t get as many hours, but I’ll have homework to focus on.

This summer has taught me a lot. I now have even more work experience, but at a price of some days being incredibly busy and thus exhausting. If one really wants to make and save money, a full-time job is probably a better bet of a consistent paycheck. However, it has been a fun and fulfilling summer. I’ve hardly even had time to think “there’s nothing to do in this town.”

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The End of Summer

Leave a Reply

